WWW Wednesday- 18th October

WWW WEDNESDAY

It’s time for this week’s contribution to WWW Wednesday, the weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words.

WWW WEDNESDAY 18TH OCTOBER.jpg

Currently reading:

America City.jpg

America City by Chris Beckett- This is another one I’m reviewing for The Bookbag, so it’s my main focus at the moment. I’m not too far in, but I’m loving what I’ve read so far. I love the way Beckett plays with his reader’s mind, creating a future that seems altogether plausible, with references to the devastating effects of climate change and a wall that has been erected between Mexico and America. As an added bonus, I’ve always loved a book with a political theme, so I’m enjoying the fact the novel focuses on a politician attempting to run for President, and his plans to unite the USA, where a clear divide has developed between the affluent Northern states and the Southern states, which have been ravaged by a series of natural disasters. I only hope the future won’t really look like something out of this book!
Murder on the Orient Express by Agatha Christie- With a new film adaptation coming out soon, and given I needed a less pretty book to read in the bath, I figured it was about time I reread this one. I’m actually enjoying it just as much the second-time round, despite knowing who the murderer is, as I’m having fun trying to spot the clues that hint at the conclusion. Note to self: I really need to read more Agatha Christie, as I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the few of her books that I’ve actually read!
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling- Not gonna lie… The Harry Potter reread has been postponed again, but I had at least made some progress beforehand!

Recently finished:

Malala.jpg

I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai- I’ll be posting a full review over the coming weeks, as I’ve realised I didn’t actually post one last time I read this book, but this is another reread I enjoyed. Basically, I just love Malala! I just find it incredible that, at 20 years old (or to put it another way, two years older than me!), she has already bravely defied the Taliban to become a political activist, survived an assassination attempt, founded a charity, spoken at the UN and gained a place at Oxford University! Plus, she’s done all of this as an advocate for allowing all girls access to education, a cause I will always champion. If ever someone was a true feminist icon, it’s Malala, and I’d recommend her book to anyone who wants to see a world where women are truly equal.

malala-yousafzai-quotes-wallpaper.jpg

Reading next: Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling
• I’m still aiming to read this one before I’m 30, promise!

long time.gif

So, that’s it for another week! If you enjoyed this post, feel free to let me know what you’re reading in the comments, or even in a WWW Wednesday post of your own.

Em x

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “WWW Wednesday- 18th October

  1. My most recent finished book was A Plague of Giants by Kevin Hearne, I’m currently reading The Magician’s Keeper by Nicola E. Sheridan, and my next read is…maybe How to Hang a Witch by Adriana Mather.

Leave a Reply

