WWW Wednesday- 9th August

WWW WEDNESDAY

It’s time for WWW Wednesday, the weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, once again!

WWW WEDNESDAY 9TH AUGUST.jpg

 

               1.       What are you currently reading?

 

·         The Green Mile by Stephen King- This is one of my all-time favourites, and a book I try to reread every summer. If you haven’t read it yet… What are you waiting for?! King’s writing is as masterful as ever, and I just love the very idea of John Coffey (although THAT ending gets me every time!). As you can probably tell, I’ve read my copy so many times that the cover seems to be about to part company with the rest of the book…

 

 

 

                2.       What did you recently finish reading?

 

·         Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling-  I finally finished it! I’m afraid review books have definitely been taking a toll on my poor Harry Potter reread, and I’m now going to have to postpone it, as my copies of the series are far too pretty to be taken travelling! I’m definitely going to make more of an effort to prioritise my Potter reread during September.

 

THREE DAUGHTERS OF EVE
Just really liked the cover design!

 

·         Three Daughters of Eve by Elif Shafak- This is another one I reviewed for The Book Bag,and I can safely say I’ll be reading Shafak’s back catalogue. The book focuses on Peri, a wealthy Istanbul housewife, as she thinks back to her time at Oxford University, spent with Shirin and Mona, two other girls from Muslim backgrounds, each of whom had very different views on religion. Peri’s personal spiritual beliefs were shaped by the rebellious Professor Azur, as was the scandal that prevented her from graduating. My only criticism would be that I found the actual scandal itself to be a bit of an anticlimactic ending, yet I’d also add that this book isn’t so much a story, as a commentary on religion. I loved seeing the feisty Shirin (‘the Sinner’) debate all aspects of religion with Mona (‘the Believer’), while poor Peri (‘the Confused’) quietly saw both points of view. The two main debates in the novel definitely centre on how women are treated in Islam, and whether Islam is a religion that can be modernised.

 

3.       What do you think you will read next?

EXCITED THUG
Accurate representation of my excitement levels

 

·         The Hate U Give by Angie Thomas- I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to read a book! I can’t wait to see whether this is as good as its reputation. I’m also interested in the subject matter- the Black Lives Matter movement- as this one seems like it’s going to be very relevant to today’s political issues and climate. (And no, for anyone who’s wondering, I don’t live on Mars, I just hadn’t got around to reading this one yet!).

 

So, if you enjoyed this post, why not tell me what you’re reading in the comments, or even in your own WWW Wednesday post?

 

PS- The fact I’m posting this on #BookLoverDay sadly makes me very happy… Hope you’ve all read lots to celebrate!!

 

 

7 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday- 9th August

  1. I reallyreally need to read The Green Mile one day!
    This is one of those “Saw the movie, haven’t read the book yet”-cases that has to be fixed ASAP. I keep harassing my secondhand bookstore about it, but every time a copy comes in they forget [or “forget”] to put it aside. Maybe because they know I won’t be in there as often anymore after I got it, haha. I should just order it.. But Stephen King books are supposed to look read, in my eyes. It’s Stephen King, after all..

    Aaaanyway! THUG really is an awesome book! I read it earlier this week and, even though it isn’t something I’d usually read, I really enjoyed it. It’s honest, really confronting and makes you think. I hope it lives up to your expectations!

    1. Maybe you should try ebay for The Green Mile? ☺ If I remember rightly that’s where I got mine. It was second hand when I got it, just not as battered as it is now😂.

      And I’m so so excited to read THUG, I need to see what all the fuss is about ☺

      1. Sites are dangerous. “Book ban” and my boyfriend is keeping tabs on me. He’s like a hawk lately.. <.<
        Secondhand bookstores he can handle – at least.. he handles them better than when I order books, haha.

        I had the same feeling! I'm glad it was even better than I'd anticipated, really. Hope you enjoy it when you finally read it. ^-^

Leave a Reply

