WWW Wednesday- 2nd August

WWW WEDNESDAY

I’m a bit late to the party this week, but WWW Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, asking us to answer the following questions:

WWW WEDNESDAY 2ND AUGUST.jpg

What are you currently reading?
Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling- STILL. Between review books and frantically reading One of us is Lying so a friend can borrow it for her holiday, my reading schedule has been a little crammed. As I’m sure I’ve been saying for the past month… let’s hope the Harry Potter reread can continue soon!

What did you recently finish reading?

WWW WEDNESDAY 2ND AUSGUST X2.jpg
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R. Tolkien- I know what you’re thinking… she finally did it! Well, hate to burst your bubble, but I’m afraid I didn’t. I’m not generally a fan of DNFing a book, especially one I’ve been assured is fantastic, but it got to the point where I dreaded picking this one up, so I decided it was about time I quit. At the end of the day, reading is meant to be fun! I can see why others like this book- it’s beautifully written and Tolkien has created a truly amazing read- but, personally, hundreds of pages of Frodo walking through forest grew boring pretty quickly. And yes, a part of me does hate myself, as this is one of those books I just think I’m not meant to dislike. HOWEVER…

FREEDOM
One of us is Lying by Karen M. McManus- I’ve seen a lot of people saying this one was good fun, and it certainly didn’t disappoint! It was a good old-fashioned whodunit, and I was kept guessing to the end (apart from Cooper’s ‘big secret’… I think I figured that one out about 5 pages in!). The high school setting and use of funny teen stereotypes gave the book a 1980’s/90’s air, but I loved the way most of the stereotypes were satirised and turned on their heads over the course of the novel. Although primarily a murder mystery, this is also a pretty funny social commentary on life in American high schools. The perfect quick read to kill some time over summer!

What do you think you’ll read next?
• In case anyone at all remembers, I was aiming to complete my annual Harry Potter reread over summer… so, for the millionth time, I might get the next book in the series read over the next week!

YEARS.jpg

If you enjoyed this post, why not comment what you’re reading below, or even do your own WWW Wednesday?

 

3 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday- 2nd August

  1. I really enjoyed One of Us Is Lying as well and same as you, I figured out some of Cooper’s secrets ;-). There were still plenty of others to be discovered so it wasn’t too bad. I’m reading Last Seen Alive by Claire Douglas. It’s going to be a raving review 😉

Leave a Reply

