I finished my Goodreads reading challenge!

So, apparently, I’ve finished my Goodreads reading challenge for 2017 (it’s better to be early to the party, right?)! I set my challenge at the start of the year, when I was still trying to adjust to the increased workload college has brought me, so I only aimed to read 25 books… Turns out I was a tad pessimistic! My Goodreads tally now stands at 25 books, although I’ve also read some extras that aren’t listed on my account, but that I have noted down. You can read on to check out my opinion on the books I’ve read so far in 2017, as well as my reading goals between now and December!

Genres I’ve read so far:

GENRES.png

Yes, I am sad enough to keep an Excel document listing all the books I’ve read… It’s very useful for blogging purposes though! I was quite surprised to see that the genre I’ve read the most of this year is ‘Modern Classics’ (things like Lolita, To Kill a Mockingbird and pretty much any iconic book from the past century), but then I suppose it makes sense given I’ve always enjoyed the genre, and have often tried to read some of the more famous novels out there. I’ve also been enjoying Young Adult Fiction (my second most read genre!). Unusually, for a teenager, I’m actually quite surprised by how much YA I’ve read this year- I love checking out books aimed at my own age group, but I’d never have classed it as a favourite genre. On the opposite end of the scale, I’m ashamed to say I’ve only managed one classic this year (Alexandre Du Mais’s The Three Musketeers), as I’d like to kid myself I’ve read a fair few over the years!

Favourite book so far:

A THOUSAND SPLENDID SUNS
This one was a close call (Sweet Bean Paste by Durian Sukegawa and A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness were strong contenders), but I think I’d have to opt for Khaled Hosseini’s A Thousand Splendid Suns, which I reviewed here. It appealed to me in so many ways, but is especially deserving of praise for the way it empowers women, and enlightens the reader to the political situation in Afghanistan, making it an extremely important read. If this hasn’t convinced you to give it a go already, I’d add that Splendid Suns is beautifully written, and that I felt genuinely invested in Laila and Mariam’s fate. Plus, without giving too much away, I will say that I adored the ending, even if it was heart-breaking, for the way it brought closure to their story. I can only hope women like Hosseini’s characters exist in real life, helping challenge the way Afghanistan views women.

Biggest disappointment so far:
MARVEL.jpg

This one has to go to Marvel Comics: The Untold Story by Sean Howe. As a big Marvel fan, I was looking forward to tales of the origins of and inspiration behind some of Marvel’s iconic characters. What I actually got was a rather dull account of the history of Marvel as a company. Great for Business students, not so great for anyone with an actual interest in how Marvel creates their characters.

THUMBS DOWN.gif

I also thought I’d like to take this opportunity to list my reading goals for between now and December:
1. Read at least another 25 books, so my total number of books read in 2017 will be at least 50- This may seem optimistic given I’ve only managed to read 25 so far this year, but 50 seems like a nice round number, and hopefully an achievable one given I’m determined to make even more time to read in the second half of the year.

 

2. Read at least one non-fiction book a month- Only a couple of the books I’ve read this year have been non-fiction, yet it’s a genre I generally enjoy. I’ve always found finding out about new people and places to be one of the most pleasurable things about reading, hence my love of political fiction, but nothing gives the reader more knowledge than a good old non-fiction. My attempts at reading non-fiction have been pretty pathetic so far this year, so I’m determined to read at least one book a month for the rest of the year to compensate.

3. Read more feminist literature, or books that empower women- I’ve read both books on feminism and books that generally empower women this year, and have enjoyed both genres. I’ve also found myself becoming more interested in the feminist movement, and would love to further my knowledge on the issue of equal rights, and what better way than via reading?!

4. Read at least 5 ‘classic’ novels- I’ve always thought I was someone who read a lot of classic literature, but looking at my stats for this year I’m embarrassed to see this isn’t the case! I’ve decided I want to make an effort to read some more classics before the end of the year, and to get through some of the famous Classics on my TBR.

5. Get up to date with book reviews!!- So, this isn’t exactly a reading goal, but it’s very much a blogging one! I’ve got a few book reviews I must get around to writing, and I’m determined to use the next few weeks, while I spend some time rereading the Harry Potter series, to get some of them written and posted.

…And those are my reading goals for the second half of this year- wish me luck! I can also officially say I’m starting my second Goodreads challenge of 2017.

If you liked this post, why not comment your own reading goals?

10 thoughts on “I finished my Goodreads reading challenge!

      1. I said 30 for my challenge. It’s not a huge challenge, but several of the books I’ve been reading have been really long. I’m hoping to go over 30, but we’ll see.

  1. I made my goal 100 books and I am currently 13 books ahead of schedule, having read 73 books! Though I cheated a little. Graphic Novels count as books on Goodreads. (about 10 of the 73 are Graphic Novels)
    I really love your graph! I will probably go make one now. I also keep a spreadsheet of all the books I have read 😀

    1. Don’t worry, if my Deadpool Comic collection counts I think your Graphic Novels will be just fine😉. And thanks, I love graphs and spreadsheets… I like to think I’m organised about my reading 😂

Leave a Reply

