WWW Wednesday- 12th July

WWW WEDNESDAY

Hi- I’m still alive! Before I begin this post, I’d like to take a moment to explain my absence. I’ve been staying at my Grandparents’ house, with my internet access limited to my phone, so I’m afraid it’s been rather difficult to prepare content for my blog. But, anyway, the good news is I’m back in time for WWW Wednesday, the weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words. So, without further ado, here are my answers to the all-important questions:

12TH JULY

1. What are you currently reading?
The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien- I’m not even going to pretend any progress has been made with this one over the last week… Moving on!
The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (pseudonym for J.K. Rowling)- I have to say I feel rather brave for tackling this one. Thanks to the Harry Potter series, Rowling has been my favourite author for almost as long as I can remember, yet I’ve always been nervous to read her other work due to an irrational fear that it won’t be as good, and will put me off her previous work. I needn’t have worried! Even speaking as someone who isn’t usually a fan of detective stories, Rowling’s narrative means this one is beautifully descriptive, and the plot has me gripped. I can’t wait to find out how everything is resolved!

2. What did you recently finish reading?
Can I Speak to Someone in Charge? by Emily Clarkson- This is yet another novel I read for The Book Bag (my review will be appearing over on their site soon, but as I said earlier my internet access has been virtually non-existent these past few days, so you may be waiting a little while). It’s published tomorrow and I can’t stress this enough: BUY A COPY! Clarkson’s ode to feminism is witty, fierce and extremely funny, managing to address many of the serious struggles associated with being a woman in today’s society, whilst also keeping the reader thoroughly entertained through funny stories and comments. A must-read for anyone with an interest in feminism, or even those who would simply like to find out more about the movement, from the perspective of a fresh, young face rather than a ‘preachy’ (is that a word?!) activist.

3. What do you think you will read next?

AZKABAN.jpg
• Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K. Rowling- ‘Aha!’, I hear you say, ‘She’s finally finished Chamber of Secrets!’. Well, dear readers, I won’t lie. I’ve done no such thing. BUT, I am hoping to get the book read over the next few days so, with any luck, I may well be reading Prisoner of Azkaban by the time my next WWW Wednesday comes around… (If I don’t get distracted by other books again!)

CROSSED.gif

So, what are you guys reading this Wednesday? Why don’t you let me know in the comments, or even in a post of your own? I look forward to hearing from you!

5 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday- 12th July

  1. Getting distracted by other books is something I understand soooo well, haha. I’ve been having the same problem a lot lately. So much so that I’ve been putting off reading ACOTAR for months now – but that also had to do with the whole hype which made me wary of reading it myself. Sooo, now I’m finally reading ACOTAR and flying through it.
    If all goes according to plan – I’ll force it to to according to plan – I’ll be finished with it tonight.. And then start the sequel. I think. Or not. I’ve just got way too many books that I want to read as well and ugh. Haha.

    1. I definitely know the feeling of waiting months to read a book! 🙈 I’ve got so many things on too- sometimes I get distracted by ARCs I need to review, or trying to get through my endless TBR of unread books. Good luck with your reading!!

      1. Yup! Same! At first I was like “Oh, next ARC is coming out in August; I got some time.” Now I’m just being anxious about it, wanting to finish ACOTAR and then the rest of the series. But on the other hand I’m starting to think about just reading all the ARC’s I already have.. And ugh.
        I guess those are simply decisions I’ll have to learn to make but it’s hard to get my priorities straight sometimes. Haha.
        You too!

      2. I’m like that with ARCs- I have to read them as soon as I receive them, even if the review isn’t due for weeks 😂

      3. I’ll probably have to get it in my head to be like that too. My Netgalley feedback rate will drop like no tomorrow if I don’t, I guess, haha. [Some things like this are not easy to figure out when you aren’t blogging for that long yet.]

Leave a Reply

