WWW Wednesday- 28th June

WWW WEDNESDAY

After last week’s post, I’ve decided to make ‘WWW Wednesday’, the weekly meme hosted by Taking on a World of Words, a regular thing for my blog. Carry on reading to hear about this week’s bookish adventures:

1. What are you currently reading?

  • The Lord of the Rings: the Fellowship of the Ring by J.R.R Tolkien- Yup, you guessed it, after last week’s rant I am STILL cracking on with this one. Slowly but surely, I will win the war.

2. What did you recently finish reading?

  • Sweet Bean Paste by Durian Sukegawa- This was an ARC I reviewed for The Book Bag, where you can read my full review. I didn’t know what to expect upon picking the book up, but it turned out to be one of the best I’ve read this year. The friendship between Tokue and Sentaro was just beautiful, and don’t get me started on how moving I found the ending. Sukegawa can be praised for creating a book that shows both why we shouldn’t judge by appearance, and why anyone’s life can have meaning, regardless of how much they might have suffered. I strongly recommend picking up a copy when this one is released in October! 
  • Love & Gelato by Jenna Evans Welch- This was another one I read for The Book Bag (full disclosure: my review is imminent, but hasn’t been posted just yet as I only finished reading this afternoon!). I picked up this one in hope of a quick, summery read and because I figured it was about time I read some new YA. It did, however, feel like a very ironic slap in the face to be reading about an Italian summer with the weather looking like it does in the above picture. Perks of living in the North! Weather-induced jealousy aside, this did indeed satisfy my craving for a summery adventure. It was light-hearted, fun, and filled with a romance that couldn’t help but make me smile. Plus, with a backstory as sad as Lina’s, it was impossible to dislike the protagonist.

    3. What do you think you will read next?

    • Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K. Rowling- I plan on continuing my annual Potter reread with the second instalment in the series. If I’m being honest, this was always my least favourite Potter book, but I’m in love with this beautiful illustrated edition. I haven’t actually had the chance to read it yet, but who knows, maybe the gorgeous pictures will make me feel less devastated about the lack of Hermione in this one! 

    So, what are you guys reading? Why don’t you let me know in the comments below, or even with your own WWW Wednesday post! 

    Em x

    Leave a Reply

    