My Bookish Goals for 2016

As it’s now officially 2016, I thought I’d use this post for three purposes- to wish you all a Happy New Year and to thank you for the support you gave this blog over the past year, to round off the reading year of 2015, and to establish my bookish goals for the coming year. So, without further ado, here are some figures about the books I read in 2015:

Books read: 68 (my goal was 50!)

Most popular genre(s): Classic Literature (25 books read) and Fantasy (also 25)

Least popular genre: Biography (1 book read)

In general, I found I read quite a good mix of books this year. I was particularly impressed with the amount of classics I managed to read, although they are my favourite genre. On the opposite end of the spectrum, I simply don’t own enough biographies to have read several. I have, however, decided I want to read more non-fiction (including biographies and autobiographies) in the coming year.

Now to move on to my other project of this year.

map

Towards the end of 2014, it came to my attention that I’ve visited a relatively small number of countries myself, but that I’ve read books set in my countries than I care to remember. I therefore decided to create an admittedly badly drawn map of the world and mark each place I read about in a book over the course of 2015 with a number corresponding to the time at which I read that book. For instance, a place featured in the third book I read would be marked with a 3. Fictional places are written around the outside of the map. I must say I was surprised how many places I ended up reading about this year! I read books set in ever continent except Antarctica- quite a feat when one considers I’ve only ever managed to visit Europe (where I live!) and North America in person. This was an interesting idea, as it really opened my eyes to how many different places my reading has allowed me to visit this year- all from the comfort of my own home of course! I’ll definitely be doing this again in 2016, as I think it’s a great way of showing just how diverse one’s reading habits can be!

Speaking of books taking someone places, one of my highlights of 2015 was a day out at the Harry Potter Studio Tour. Being able to see genuine props from the films is a must for any Potter fan, as is a cooling glass of Butterbeer and a look aboard the Hogwarts Express. Another fantastic visit for fans of the series is a trip to The Wizarding World of Harry Potter in Orlando, Florida. I last visited on a family holiday in 2013, so I’m incredibly excited to be visiting again this summer to see the new attractions.  The visit is bound to be one of my highlights of this year, so I just couldn’t resist mentioning it in a post about my bookish plans for the coming year.

Finally, I want to use this post as a chance to set my reading goal for 2016. I want to push myself slightly, but I don’t want to overstretch myself with my GCSE exams coming up later this year. As a result of this I’ve decided to aim for 70 books- a nice, round number that will hopefully be achievable.

To wrap-up this post I’d like to once again thank you for your support and wish you all the best for 2016, particularly in your own reading and blogging ventures! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “My Bookish Goals for 2016

    1. Thank you! And I love to read, I just think it’s the perfect way to relax or pass a few hours if you’re bored ☺

Leave a Reply

