Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book to Movie/TV Adaptations that I’m looking forward to or I still need to watch

20151110-214241.jpg

I’ve finally got around to participating in Top Ten Tuesday, the weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish. The object of this is that bloggers compile a post based around their chosen theme. This week’s theme is movie or TV adaptations of books you’re anticipating or have not yet got around to watching. I’m hoping to start regularly contributing to this meme :).

1. Memoirs of a Geisha
Since I loved the book so much, this a movie I’m excited to finally get around to watching. The book is just beautiful- not to mention detailed- and has so many features that would translate beautifully to the screen. The characters in the book seemed really real, which always helps make a good movie. In a rare and uncharacteristic display of ‘girliness’, I have to admit that the kimono would look stunning on screen too!

2. The Exorcist
For all I didn’t really enjoy this book, I really want to see what it is that makes the film adaptation so infamous. In fact, the movie is so infamous I’m actually a little nervous to watch it, but I do aim to get around to it eventually… As someone who likes older and controversial movies and can appreciate a well-made horror film I’m trying to convince myself that I might actually enjoy this one. In general, this is a movie I’m just extremely curious about.

3. Never Let Me Go
This is just such an intriguing book that I’ve actually been wondering how one would even go about adapting it into a film. There are so many different concepts discussed that I don’t know how one movie has even managed to cover all of them. Like Memoirs of a Geisha, this is a book that could make a thought-provoking and visually stunning movie.

4. It’s Kind of a Funny Story                        This was a book I thoroughly enjoyed and, once again, thought was absolutely beautiful. I’ve been meaning to watch the film adaptation for a while, partly because I’m intrigued about the kind of movie this book would make and partly because I have a penchant for a good indie movie. I’d like to think this film will be something like the excellent adaptation of The Perks of Being a Wallflower that was released a few years ago.



5. War and Peace                                                 I feel as though I’m looking forward to the BBC’s adaptation of Tolstoy’s epic for all the wrong reasons. What I mean by this is that I want to see if it’s really as historically immaculate as the trailer would suggest. Every now and then I find it strangely satisfying to pick holes in an adaptation of an excellent book.

6. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them
I haven’t done this post in order of my anticipation for an adaptation, but if I had this would be number one. The end of the original Harry Potter movies left a great, JK Rowling adaptation-shaped vacancy in British cinema, which many fans are hoping will be filled by this new Wizarding World themed spin-off. As if the idea of a new Wizarding film wasn’t exciting enough, this is the first screenplay Rowling has ever written herself!

7. The Jungle Book
Although the closest I’ve thus far come to actually reading Rudyard Kipling’s classic is watching the Disney cartoon, I’m extremely excited for Andy Serkis’ new adaptation of the classic. This is mostly due to the fact it features Benedict Cumberbatch’s voice, although the rest of the cast list is impressive too!

8. Breakfast at Tiffany’s
Despite thoroughly enjoying Truman Capote’s classic novella, I have never seen its famous film adaptation. In fact, I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve only ever seen one movie starting Audrey Hepburn! One thing that has so far put me off watching this movie was my mother’s opinion on it, since she dismissed it as both irritating and borderline racist. I’ll eventually get around to forming my own opinion on this film.


9. Wolf Hall                                                    Despite my love for historical fiction, I haven’t got around to reading this book or watching the BBC adaptation that aired a few months ago. Now I own the book and the series is available on DVD I intend to do both. The idea of a drama about Thomas Cromwell, one of the most intriguing characters in British history, definitely appeals.


10. I am Malala 

Malala Yousafzai has become an icon in the fight for equal education for all, a cause I feel strongly about, and rightly so. Her book recounted her past hardships and reinforces just how amazing she is- few people would dare stand up against the Taliban, so for a teenage girl to do so is truly inspiring. Even more amazing is the fact she survived being shot in the head at close range by a terrorist gunman. I’m interested in following Malala’s story, and can’t wait to watch ‘He Named Me Malala’. It’s already apparent that the her amazing life is more than deserving of a documentary.

Leave a Reply

