“Gone Girl”

Greetings,

image

I’ll start off by saying the main reason I read “Gone Girl” by Gillian Flynn is because I can’t go to the cinema to see the adaptation as it’s an 18. I decided to tide myself over by reading the novel. I’d heard a lot about how the book was praised by both critics and the public and I have to say I can see why! I became so involved in the complicated plot twists that I could barely bring myself to put the book down. It’s a book any keen reader will love to sink their
teeth into and I can’t imagine anyone who read its rave reviews feeling even remotely let down! I can imagine myself revisiting my copy of this book quite often!

The main strength of the characters is that I felt strongly about them all because I detested every single one of them. The cops were pretentious and self righteous, Go was incredibly irritating, Desi was a creep and, most of all, Nick and Amy Dunne had an equal number of issues. As the book was nareated alternately by the Dunnes, it felt almost like a psychiatrist’s case study due to their shocking behaviour. I hated them both equally, but for very different reasons. In a bizarre sort of way I couldn’t help but want them to flourish as they were two characters tailor made for eachother. The characters’ odd behaviour managed to make a book that is already a thriller even creepier. It is a testimony to Flynn’s writing that as I read I found myself wondering what would happen to the world if the Dunnes were real. One rarely finds a book where all the characters are as detestable as the ones in “Gone Girl”.

Flynn’s writing may not have been overly comprehensive, however it served its purpose and had few errors. In a book with so many twists and turns, the reader is intended to enjoy the storyline rather than the language. The narration was done in a “personal”, informal way so one actually feels as though they know the characters personally.  This makes the evil things done by the characters even more shocking to the naïve reader. One thing I cannot fault about Flynn is her ability to build suspense and keep the reader hooked, even if (like me) they cannot guess the frequent plot twists.

I have to say that “Gone Girl” has finally broken my streak of only awarding 10s to rereads. Everything about the book was addictive. Admittedly when I read the cliffhanger ending I seriously condidered awarding the book a 1 out of frustration, and the plot played with my brain so much that I had to sit and think about what I’d read for several moments after finushing the book,  but that takes nothing away from the book. Even as I was reading it I wanted to reread the book to spot clues I missed during several failed attempts at guessing the end. No matter how much you detest the characters and their despicable actions, you still feel compelled to reach for the book and read more. “Gone Girl” is a perfect example of a stereotypical book that, despite vowing to read just one chapter, will keep you entertained for hours. It truly is one of the best books of recent years!

Rating: 10/10

Leave a Reply

