“Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix”

Greetings,

image

As you probably expected my Harry Potter rereading binge has continued with “Order of the Phoenix”. I’ve heard many people say they regard this as the hardest slog of the series due to its considerable length of over 700 pages and the fact it documents Harry’s “teen angst” faze however I can’t say I’ve ever noticed this personally. Ever since I first read the book I’ve loved the way it carries its length in a way that gradually builds suspense- we know Voldemort must make an appearance but can’t fathom when at first. I also love the reception the school gives Umbridge as it continouously kept me engaged.

For the majority of “Order…” my favourite character is Professor McGonagall; simply because of her hilarious conduct towards Umbridge that actually made me laugh out loud on more than one occasion! Her comments are witty, sassy and superbly commandeered by JK Rowling as she subtely but surely conveys McGonagall’s hatred of Umbridge. Dolores Umbridge herself is a truly brilliant creation as, along with Percy Wetmore from “The Green Mile” and Bob Ewell from “To Kill A Mockingbird”, she is the literary character I harbour the most dislike for. In all honesty, I hated her more than Voldemort himself! Rowling gets her simpering but deadly demeanour absolutely spot on consistently. Harry Potter himself irritates me in this book with his stereotypical teenage boy arrogance, but I wouldn’t say that put me off the book at all. This is probably because the other characters of a similar age remain relatively normal.

I’ve come to expect engaging books that, despite being aimed at young adults, are enthralling from Rowling and “Order…” does not dissapoint. Each time I reread the Potter series I am reminded how they are books children, teens like myself AND adults can enjoy. The novels are written in a style that clearly distinguishes them as Rowling’s work and have few mistakes.

As a whole, “Order of the Phoenix” is yet another great entry in the Potter series. If you’ve seen its Goodreads page and have any apprehension about ruining your respect for the series by reading the book I hope this review has set the record straight. Like any other Potter book “Order” has funny moments, tense moments and sad moments. I always feel extremely sorry for Harry at the end of this novel, but I won’t tell you why for fear of spoiling the novel for those who haven’t read it or seen the movie. All in all, “Order” is a brilliant book and yet another testament for Rowling’s many talents.

Rating: 10/10

“You’re just as sane as I am”- Luna Lovegood

6 thoughts on ““Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix”

      1. Really? πŸ™‚ I have watched the first movie more than 3 times. They were so young! Which book out of 7 you love the most? I don’t like the last one as much as the others. Mainly, I don’t like the part where they go around the world searching blindly. πŸ™‚

      2. Yeah, I love them so much 😊 my favourite is Goblet of Fire, although I also love Half Blood Prince and Deathly Hallows😁

      3. Tough question, I’ve lost count! For the last couple of years it’s only been once a year (that way I can savour the books more :D), but I’m a couple of months off my 15th birthday now and I was about 9/10 when I first read them if that helps, there are some I’ve read more often than others πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

