“Harry Potter and The Prisoner of Azkaban”

Greetings,

image

Once again the image I have used was not taken by me, however it will have to do.

Now that’s over and done with- on with the review! I have been rereading the third installment of JK Rowling’s Potter series “Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban”. Although it’s not my favourite Potter book, “Prisoner…” never fails to delight. I would definitely regard it as the most surprising Potter book due to its many twists and turns. I remember being rather stunned by the books conclusion the first time I read it, since it changes the beset path of the enture franchise.

As with any Potter book, the characters delight! The additions to the series introduced include Sirius Black, Peter Pettigrew and Remus Lupin. Pettigrew proves to be as simpering and dislikeable as Lupin and Black are interesting and likeable. My only criticism of the characters in this book would be the lack of a truly evil villain. Whilst Pettigrew serves this purpose fairly well, Lord Voldemort (or indeed any villain with substance) is missed. For this reason, “Prisoner…” remains my least favourite Potter book.

As usual, it is difficult to fault the quality of Rowling’s writing. It has few mistakes and is witty, imaginative and enthralling. I firmly believe the reason the Potter books are superior to the Potter movies is because the movies lack Rowling’s tone! Through her writing, she conveys emotion in a way that readers of all ages and skill levels can appreciate; I know adults in their 40s who have thoroughly enjoyed the Potter series.

Overall, despite a few flaws, “Prisoner” still fills me with the same sense of nostalgia as the other Potter books. The plot is intriguing, eventhough it’s not the most action packed of the books. I have certainly enjoyed reading it again and the novelty of the book had certainly never worn off for me! As ever, I am enjoying rereading the series and find the books rather engrossing (once you start reading anything by Rowling you’ll be sucked in to an extent that you’ll never want to put it down).

Rating:   9/10

“Don’t let the muggles get you down”- Ron Weasley

Leave a Reply

