“Love and Death: The Murder of Kurt Cobain”

image

Greetings (after a rather long absence),

Before I begin this post I feel like I should add a few necessary ‘disclaimers’. Firstly, the reason I haven’t posted for eight weeks is because I have been ploughing through all 1150 pages of “It” by Stephen King, not because I have been reading a ludicrously far fetched conspiracy book. For the record, I’ve been reading this as well as “It” to distract myself from the truly horrendous latter (more on “It” in a future post)… Secondly, I believe Kurt Cobain committed suicide along with most rational people. Finally, the picture attached to this post is admittedly rather rubbish but I’m assuming it will suffice!

Now, on to the review! I must confess that, as a dedicated Nirvana fan, I bought this book with the sole intention of mocking the conspiracy theorists who genuinely believe Cobain was murdered by Courtney Love. Whilst “Love and Death….” provided some surreal laughs, it also proved to be a shining example for the phrase “so bad it’s good”.

Due to the book’s nature, one cannot really comment on the ‘characters’. What I will say is that it was both hilarious and pitiful to see how Courtney Love was demonized throughout the book. I am no Love fan, but the lengths the authors (Ian Halperin and Max Wallace) went to discredit her was ridiculous. As I read, I found myself wondering what could possibly be spouted out by them next! The hate showed for Love was so unfounded that it was quite amusing to see the authors grasp at straws in order to tarnish her reputation.

The way “Love and Lies…” was written was quite typical for a non-fiction book. Although it was not particularly innovative or advanced, the writing served its purpose. I was surprised to find minimal errors in the book.

Overall, I would regard this book as a guilty pleasure. Whilst it’s not for someone looking for the next “To Kill a Mockingbird”, Nirvana fans will probably appreciate it. One of the greatest things about “Love and Lies…” was that it did not make the mistake of taking itself too seriously. I quite enjoyed the book, and thought it was certainly light relief when paired with “It”. That being said, it has not altered my opinion on the Cobain saga!

Rating: 8/10

(I will post new reviews soon, meanwhile please follow my Twitter @101rupert)

“It’s better to burn out than fade away.” -Kurt Cobain

Leave a Reply

