My Favourite Films That are Based on Books

Hi,
As I’m currently reading a rather long book I decided I’d write a new post to pass the time!
For all I previously posted a rant about films being turned into books, some books have been turned into films that I have thoroughly enjoyed. This list is my top 5 favourite adaptations.

1. The Harry Potter Anthology
For many reasons, I enjoyed these books and films. Most of all I love them because they were the first books I really sunk my teeth into and got involved with. ‘Deathly Hallows’ was the first book I ever cried at! Similarly, I became interested in the movies. Once again, I laughed and
cried with the characters. I’d like to think I will always have a soft spot for all things Potter.

2. Forrest Gump
The best thing about this film was Tom Hanks’ portrayal of Forrest. Regrettably, I read the book when I had already watched the film. This simply made me adore the film even more, and made the actors performances seem even better. The film was generally a feel good movie that made me smile (despite the heartbreaking ending…).

3. War Horse
Once again, I saw the movie first. Of course I preferred the book once I read it, but I still thought the film was sublime. That said, as someone who counts Michael Morpurgo amongst their favourite authors, is obsessed with Benedict Cumberbatch and regularly rides horses, I am probably biased. I remember sitting in the cinema watching ‘War Horse’ and being told to shut up by my dad because I was sobbing so loudly…. About half an hour into the film! I loved the film and book so much that I got tickets for the stage show for my birthday and am currently counting down the days until I get to see it!

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower
Yet again, I ended up watching the film before I read the book. I have to confess that at first I was only interested in the film because it starred Emma Watson of ‘Harry Potter’ fame. Of course the media was publishing numerous articles debating over how Watson would cope outside such a popular franchise. Happily, Watson didn’t dissapoint! (Though it has to be said Logan Lerman completely outshone the rest of the cast). As soon as I left the cinema, I’d come to the conclusion that I adored Perks… And not just because of the cast! The whole film was generally beautiful. Later, when I read the book, I began to love the characters even more!

5. Dracula
For once, I read this book before watching ‘Nos Feratu’. I loved the book, although I cried my eyes out when my favourite character died on the second off last page! The film ‘Nos Feratu’ is loosely based on the film (fans of Dracula’s author Bram Stoker may be aware of the legal dispute between the filmmakers and Stoker’s family). I loved ‘Nos Feratu’ for several reasons. Most of all, it’s a great example of early filmmaking with a cool, creepy feel.

(I may be reading my book for another couple of weeks, but I’ll review it then. In the meantime, follow me on twitter @101rupert)

2 thoughts on “My Favourite Films That are Based on Books

Leave a Reply

