“The Fault In Our Stars”

Once again, hi!
Last night I started to reread “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green…again! I can happily report that I have already finished the book, and enjoyed it as much as ever! In relation to why I would recommend this book, there are several reasons, the most obvious being that it is an extremely humbling read. The book really puts your problems in perspective, through the wise eyes of a teenage girl with a cancer diagnosis that “has never been anything but terminal”.

Hazel, the narrator of the story, is a fantastic character. Not only is she approachable, funny and gifted with words; she possesses a remarkable ability to “tell it like it is”. “The Fault In Our Stars” does not glorify cancer and cancer patients- it provides a harrowing insight into what life with the disease is like, warts and all. If I had to name a fictional character as a Heroine, I would most definitely sight Hazel Grace Lancaster as such a person. That said, even Hazel is not as good a character as August Waters. John Green has succeeded in creating the perfect character- intelligent, witty, handsome and charismatic. Ultimately, I think all women would love a Gus in their lives! Gus and Hazel compliment each other brilliantly throughout the book. They deliver some of my favourite quotes between them, proving to be a formidable duo!

I genuinely believe “TFIOS” is a rare book, largely because of the beautiful and poetic way in which it is written. I have never sobbed as much at a book, partly down to Green’s fabulous tone. As a write this, I have dried mascara on my face that ran as I cried. The language in this book is partly what makes it such a moving read. There are very few errors in the book (even if there was I’d be too caught up in the books fluent style to notice them).

Part of the reason this book is a personal favourite is down to it’s fantastic storyline. The book is extremely “real”- as I said before no aspect of cancer is glamourised in the slightest. What separates the book from the average (dare I say depressing) story about cancer is it’s realism. Hazel requests no sympathy, no matter what she endures. Green could easily have written another, recycled story centring around telling us how brave cancer patients are, but instead he created an unforgettable and amazing book. In my opinion, every troublesome teenager should be made to read this book at some stage- it definitely changed my outlook on my “troubles”!

“I fear oblivion. I fear it like the proverbial blind man who is afraid of the dark.” -Augustus Waters

Rating: 10/10

(I am about to start reading “Long Walk To Freedom” by Nelson Mandela, which I intend to review. In the meantime, follow my blog and find me on twitter @101rupert)

Leave a Reply

