“To Kill a Mockingbird”

Greetings!

For my first ever review, I figured I’d centre it around a classic!

Recently, I finally got round to reading Harper Lee’s classic “To Kill a Mockingbird”. Frankly, I’m ashamed I didn’t read it sooner! The book was a brilliantly easy read, filled with highs and miraculously without any lows! To judge a book, I often consider whether or not I would recommend it to a friend. It is my pleasure to report that I have already told my friends all about this wonderful book.

One of the books main assets is it’s likeable characters. I loved almost every character for different reasons. Scout was brilliant because she was sweet and amusingly innocent, Jem was brillaint because he was both a caring brother and egotistical teenage boy, and (perhaps most importantly), Atticus was brilliant because of his ability to switch from dishing out endearing advice to his children to delivering compelling speeches in court. Equally, Bob Ewell was a detestable villain! I found myself angered when he brought false charges against a man unable to defend himself, and happy when he eventally payed the price for his actions.

“To Kill a Mockingbird” is written splendidly. The style, tone and language used compliments the story and characters perfectly, whilst not overshadowing them. (For language that, at times, over shadows a plot see ‘Dracula’- brilliantly written but in a way that means the language is better than the actual storyline!) Harper Lee manages to use language that is complex and interesting, but not hard to follow. As a grammar nut, I have read over 1000 books and managed to spot a subtle mistake in almost every one. However, I can happily state “To Kill a Mockingbird” is so fantastic that I didn’t spot a single mistake in over 300 pages!

The best thing about “To Kill a Mockingbird” has to be the beautiful storyline. It made me laugh and cry over the course of 31 chapters, possily in equal amounts! I developed quite an attachment to the characters- I genuinely cared what became of them. Having read so many books, I often forget a books story line. That said, I don’t think I’ll forget this marvellous book in a hurry!

Rating: 10/10

“Shoot all the bluejays you want, if you can hit ’em, but remember it’s a sin to kill a mockingbird.” -Atticus Finch

(I’m currently reading “Forrest Gump”, and aim to post a review of the book in a few days time. Meanwhile, please feel free to follow my twitter @101rupert)

Leave a Reply

